A Little Ralph.

(Keeping the first and last stanza of Ralph Fletcher’s poem, The Good Old Days.  A writing intro at a recent How’s It Going book study group.)

The Good Old Days

Sometimes I remember

the good old days,

playing outside in my acre-wooded backyard

with my younger sister and rescued dog,

both in our handmade fort

of fir tree branches and fallen leaves.

We’re fresh from playing

in the nearby stream.

Mom sends us lunch,

heart shaped sandwiches and time for a story.

I still can’t imagine

anything better than that.

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Little Ralph.

  1. Wow. That was amazing. Model and modification, all in one.

    When I read the title, I couldn’t help but think of the book “I’ll Give You the Sun”. I just finished it today. Throughout the book, there is a parrot looking for Ralph.

    Like

Leave a Reply

