closer than yesterday.

As I read through my Twitter feed tonight, I stumbled upon a timely quote:

I may not be there yet, but I am closer than I was yesterday.

As I read it, I was reminded of feelings from earlier today that our job as teachers is never done.  We are constantly trying to perfect our practice – reading, learning, collaborating, taking risks.

It can be relentless, leaving us with, “Did I do enough?  Learn enough? Say enough?”

This quote reminded me that in the midst of it all, we need to take a moment to celebrate the small things we do everyday.  Celebrate the trajectory that we are on, and that what we do, even the tiniest of moments, means the world to someone else.

Keep trying.  Keep growing.

It will make a difference.

3 thoughts on “closer than yesterday.

  1. Ah, that nagging, unanswerable question– “Am I enough?” We all feel it, especially as teachers. But you make the point that celebrating the small things we do every day is one way to counteract the effect of that uncertainty we feel. “Closer than I was yesterday.” Great quote!

    Like

Leave a Reply

